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Disposing of Abandoned Vehicles

Abandoned Vehicle Process Initiated by Police Authority
A police authority may hire your company as a private entity to handle the abandoned vehicle process from start to finish. This 
means your company will not only tow and store the vehicle, but also notify the customer according to state law.

Notification
If your company is hired by a police authority, the police authority must provide you with the name and address of the registered 
owners, lienholders, and any claimants with an interest in the vehicle on page one of DOT Form 411163 Certificate of Disposal of 
an Abandoned Vehicle When Initiated by a Police Authority.

You must send a notification by certified mail to all owners/claimants within 20 days of towing the vehicle. The notice is considered 
effective on the date it is mailed. The notification must include the following:

1.	 The year, make, model, and VIN of the vehicle.

2.	 Location where the vehicle is being held.

3.	 A statement of the owner/claimants’ right to reclaim 
the vehicle within 10 days after the effective date of 
the notice, and after all towing, preservation, storage, 
and notice costs have been paid.

4.	 A statement that the failure of the owner/claimants to 
exercise their right to reclaim the vehicle within the 
time provided shall be deemed a waiver by the owner/

claimants of all right, title, claim, and interest in the 
vehicle, and is deemed consent to the sale of the 
vehicle at a public auction or disposal of the vehicle to 
a demolisher and to disposal of personal property by 
sale or destruction.

5.	 A statement that anyone claiming possession of the 
vehicle, who disputes the planned disposal of the 
vehicle or assessment of fees and charges provided by 
this section, may ask for an evidentiary hearing before 
the police authority to challenge those matters.

Reclaiming the Abandoned Vehicle
When a person arrives to reclaim the vehicle, the person is required to present, as applicable, a valid driver’s license and proof 
of financial liability coverage (insurance, bond, etc.), which may be in the vehicle. 

* This administrative information does not supersede Iowa Code or Iowa Administrative Code, nor should it be used in place of any legal counsel. This guidance does not provide the processes 
in detail. For details, refer to IA Code 321.89, 321.90 and IA Admin Code 761.480.

PRIVATE ENTITY
You are considered a “private entity” under Iowa’s abandoned vehicle law if your business is a tow company, parking place, motor 
vehicle storage facility, or auto service shop.

POLICE AUTHORITY
For abandoned vehicle operations, “police authority” refers to the state patrol, any law enforcement agency of a county or city, 
or any special security officer employed by the state board of regents. It does not include any other agencies, like the DOT Motor 
Vehicle Enforcement or the DNR.
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Abandoned Vehicle Disposal Options
If an abandoned vehicle has not been reclaimed within 10 days of notice, your company may sell the vehicle at public auction 
or transfer the vehicle directly to a demolisher. 

By signing on page two of Form 411163, you are certifying that your portion of requirements of the abandoned vehicle process 
have been completed according to law. You are required to maintain records for three years for all vehicles sold or transferred 
to a demolisher through the abandoned vehicle process. 

OPTION 1: Sell the Vehicle at a Public Auction

•	 This is recommended to recoup your expenses from 
conducting the AV process.

•	 Determine if the vehicle will be sold for use on the 
highways or sold only for junk.

•	 Advertise a public auction at least seven days in 
advance of the sale within the county where the 
auction will take place or where the vehicle is 
physically located. 

	○ At a minimum, you must publish an ad in a 
newspaper in general circulation in the area. The 
newspaper must have a list of subscribers and 
devote at least 25 percent of total column space 
to information other than advertising. 

•	 You are required to keep a bidder registry that has the 
bidder’s full name, address, and phone number, the 
date and location of the auction, and the auctioned 
vehicle’s make, model, and VIN.

•	 The initial bid does not have to be at fair market value 
and may be set at an amount that equals the actual 
cost of storage and towing. This provision is intended 
to help recover expenses. 

•	 Provide the buyer with page two of Form 411163 with 
Section B - Abandoned Vehicle Sales Receipt complete. 
Page one does not go to the buyer, but you will need 
to keep a copy of the form for your records.

•	 Provide an odometer disclosure statement when 
required (model year 2011 and newer). The odometer 
statement will reflect the odometer reading at the 
time of sale and will be marked indicating “odometer 
discrepancy,” certifying the odometer mileage reading 
is not the actual mileage.

•	 You do not need to provide a damage disclosure 
statement for vehicles sold through the abandoned 
vehicle process. 

•	 It is recommended that you inform purchasers of 
abandoned vehicles of the fees they will pay to title 
and register the vehicle. 

	○ For vehicles sold on the police entity bill of sale 
(Form 411163), the buyer’s registration fee will be 
collected for the balance of the registration year 
based on the month of sale as shown on the sales 
receipt.  

•	 If you are unable to recoup your expenses during a 
public auction, you should make a second attempt. 
If you still cannot make a satisfactory sale after two 
public auctions, you must sell or dispose of the vehicle 
to a demolisher for junk.

OPTION 2: Transfer the Vehicle Directly to a Demolisher

•	 You may dispose of the vehicle to a licensed demolisher for junk without public auction.

•	 Provide the demolisher with page two of Form 411163 with Section C - Authority to Transfer and/or Demolish a Vehicle 
completed with the first block checked. Page one does not go to the buyer/demolisher, but you will need to keep a copy 
of the form for your records.

•	 The demolisher will only be able to obtain a junking certificate by giving page two of Form 411163 to the county treasurer 
and applying for a junking certificate within 30 days of the form date.

Reimbursement
If you are hired by a police authority to process an abandoned vehicle, you may request reimbursement of expenses that are 
more than the proceeds of the sale of the vehicle. To request reimbursement, submit DOT Form 411090 Abandoned Vehicle 
Report to the Motor Vehicle Division at the Iowa DOT at central.vehicle@iowadot.us. Instructions are included on the form.

https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/f/411090AbandonedVehicleReport
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