
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
Motor Vehicle Division Informational Memo # 24-11 
 Any County Titling Under Iowa Code 321 
 
DATE: December 20, 2024 
FROM: Debbie Freeman, Compliance Officer, Motor Vehicle Division 
TO:  All Motor Vehicle Division staff 
 Iowa County Treasurers and staff 
 Iowa Automobile Dealers Association 
 Iowa Independent Automobile Dealers Association 
 Iowa Department of Revenue 
 
SUBJECT 
This information memo explains the Iowa DOT’s implementation of HF674 from the Iowa 2024 legislative session.  
HF674 changed several provisions of Iowa Code 321 with two primary points of emphasis: 

1. HF674 allows for most vehicle title or ownership products to now be issued by any county, regardless of where 
the applicant resides. 

2. HF674 increased three fees related to vehicle titling and increased the amount retained by county treasurers. 
 

This information memo will focus solely on item #1 and will refer to this combined set of title issuance changes as “Any 
County Titling” or “AC titling” or title.  This information memo supersedes IM 22-04 that referred to the prior allowance 
for Contiguous County titling Iowa DOT is publishing a second information memo IM 24-12 to focus specifically on the 
fee increase / county retainage provisions of HF674.  
 
SUMMARY 
In 2024, the Iowa legislature amended Iowa Code chapter 321, to allow for initial title and registration transactions and 
other related title transactions to be conducted in any county. Prior to this change, initial titles and related products 
could be conducted only in the applicant’s county of residence or, for certain products, in a county contiguous to the 
county of residence. 
 
The Iowa DOT will implement AC Titling by the legislatively required start date of January 1, 2025.  This memo explains 
the new process and addresses common questions.  For readability and clarity, we have included three appendices to 
this memo with questions and answers divided into the following categories: 
 

• Appendix A: County Processing Questions 
• Appendix B: Forms and ARTS Questions 
• Appendix C: ERT and Vehicle Dealer Questions 

 
 
CURRENT 
For certain title and registration transactions, an applicant must apply to the county of residence or contiguous county 
of the owner, lessee, or primary user for processing under Iowa Code 321.20. 
 
 
 

https://iowadot.gov/DesktopModules/DnnSharp/SearchBoost/UrlFwd.ashx?url=https%3a%2f%2fiowadot.gov%2fDesktopModules%2fDnnSharp%2fSearchBoost%2fFileDownload.ashx%3ffile%3d272809%26sb-bhvr%3d45&ukey=ynPM7TjHLzY8Vxs9uEC2%2fzLnN10dATO%2b%2bDQ8GZ1m9BLhv4W4rlnsf1tJ9tIp5U1736aG7SEBYoCSOfb0%2f%2bQQKUohELku2Xnx&logid=190339-17nl0dvkkvn84wik
https://iowadot.gov/mvd/ctmanual/memos/IM-24-12.pdf?ver=PygFOnBNCS_yUuv4XCeJdg%3d%3d
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NEW 
On January 1, 2025, an applicant may still apply to their county of residence but may also apply to the county treasurer 
of any county for these title, registrations, and related transactions: 
 

• Regular title and registration (321.20) 
• Interstate motor carrier title (Prorate title) 

(321.20A) 
• Title and registration for specially constructed 

vehicle (321.23) 
• Replacement title (321.42) 
• Dealer titles (321.48) 
• Security Interest (321.50) 
• Junking certificates (321.52) 

• Salvage titles (321.52) 
• Rebuilt (321.52) (4)(C) 
• Delinquent Dealer Title (321.70) 
• In-transit title (321.109) 
• Non-transferable registration (321.109) 
• Title after Non-transferable registration 

(321.109) 
• In-transit plates (321.109) 
• 30-day permit (321.109) 

 
BUSINESS IMPACT 
Any County Titling requires many form changes and programming in the Iowa title and registration system.  The Iowa 
DOT has worked with a number of internal and external stakeholders to address these changes. 

Form changes – these forms have changed due to the requirements of HF674.  Starting on January 1, 2025, only 
these versions of the following forms should be used: 
 

• Form 411007 Application for Certificate of Title and/or Registration for Purchased Vehicle. 
• Form 411179 Application for Certificate of Title and/or Registration for Leased Vehicle. 
• Form 411033 Application for Replacement of Iowa Certificate of Title to a Motor Vehicle. 
• Form 411185 Certificate of Disposal of Abandoned Vehicle  
• Form 411163 (Private Form) Certificate of Disposal of Abandoned Vehicle 
• Form 411356 Insurer Affidavit 
• Form 411046 Application for Notation of Security Interest. 
• Form 411168 Cancellation of Security Interest 
• Form 411067 Affidavit of Foreclosure Sale  
• Form 411006 Application for Iowa Replacement Plate 

 
System changes 

• Iowa DOT title and registration system (ARTS) 
• Iowa DOT Electronic Registration & Title (ERT) service 
• Iowa DOT Webservice (go between for ARTS and ERT) 

 
TERMINOLOGY 
This memo uses certain terminology that may not be familiar.  Definitions of this terminology are included below. 

• Initial Title and Registration Transaction:  Initial title and registration transactions means anytime a new title or 
ownership document is issued.  

• Issuing County: The county that completes the initial titling and registration transaction. This may be, but is not 
necessarily, the same as the Managing County under Any County Titling. 

• Managing County: The county of residence that handles all registration renewals. 
• Title:  A title is the official document issued by the Iowa DOT or county treasurer that confirms ownership of the 

vehicle to the indicated party or parties on the title.  This document might refer to different title products such 
as “Regular title”, “Dealer Title,” “In-transit title,” etc. because they are authorized as such in law and the Iowa 
title and registration system may have different processes to deliver each transaction.  However, if not specified, 

https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO21121000301721999
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO22011000303988572
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19101000127074031
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19101000126732215
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19101000127108297
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19111000127633967
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19101000126622143
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19101000127101560
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19101000126832853
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using the word “title” in this information memo should be taken in the broadest sense. 
• Registration period: The registration period runs from the time the vehicle is initially registered up to the 

renewal of the annual registration. Depending on when the vehicle is registered, and the month chosen for 
renewal it may not be a full calendar year.  

 
HELPFUL QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 
The following questions and answers provide additional information that will be helpful to you and to customers. 
 
1. WHY IS THE IOWA DOT IMPLEMENTING ANY COUNTY TITLING UNDER IOWA CODE 321.20 AT THIS TIME? 
In the 2024 Iowa legislative session, the legislature passed the any county titling to allow customers to complete the 
certain title and registration transactions at any county including their county of residence. This law will replace the 
contiguous county titling and will be implemented by January 1, 2025.  

 
2. HOW WILL ANY COUNTY TITLING IMPACT COUNTIES? 
We anticipate three specific changes: 
 

• Forms. Any County Titling requires changes to the Title & Registration application forms (Forms 411007 and 
411179, specifically). Beginning in May 2024, the Iowa DOT has worked with key stakeholders to review these 
forms.  This stakeholder group identified changes to comply with 321.20 as well as other changes to promote 
efficiency and customer service. The updated forms 411007 and 411179 will be shared with the dealer 
associations and the county treasurers and will be ready for deployment for the January 1, 2025, deadline. Other 
form changes are identified above.  

 
• ARTS and ERT. The Iowa DOT and the ERT Partnership Group have examined the changes that will be needed to 

IT functions, including in ARTS and ERT.  These changes will be programmed with a deployment date to meet the 
January 1, 2025, deadline. 

 
• Education. Any County Titling will require substantial outreach to customers and dealers to help them 

understand the process.  We will work with all counties and our Iowa DOT Strategic Communications team to 
identify proactive communication for Web, social media, and other media options as we move closer to the 
deployment date. 

 
3.  WHAT TRANSACTIONS MAY BE COMPLETED IN ANY COUNTY, INCLUDING COUNTY OF RESIDENCE ON AND AFTER 
JANUARY 1, 2025? 
The most common transaction affected by Any County Titling is the initial title and registration application authorized 
under Iowa Code 321.20.  Under statute, this transaction is expressly authorized to be completed in any county including 
the county authorized under Iowa Code 321.20, namely, the customer’s county of residence. However, other code 
sections cross-reference or utilize Iowa Code 321.20. The legislature wrote Iowa Code 321.20 to apply “notwithstanding” 
other provisions of law.  The Iowa DOT and stakeholders have reviewed other common transactions.  See page 4 for 
transactions authorized to be completed at any county including the customer’s county of residence. 
 
 
 
 

https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO21121000301721999
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO22011000303988572
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO21121000301721999
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO22011000303988572
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The following transactions are authorized to be completed at any county including the customer’s county of residence: 

ANY COUNTY ELIGIBLE 
TRANSACTION RATIONALE ELIGIBILITY FOR 

AC BASED ON  

Initial Title and registration 
application single and multiple 
owners/lessees.  

Iowa Code 321.20 addresses the title and registration 
application and expressly includes any county. Note for 
multiple: The Issuing County may be different than the 
county of residence for any one of the owners/lessees. 

Purchase Date 

Prorate Title  Iowa code 321.20A an owner may apply to any county 
treasurer for title, but registers with the Iowa DOT for 
registration separately under Iowa code 326. 

Purchase Date 

Specialty Constructed Vehicle  Iowa code 321.23 an owner may title and register a 
specialty constructed vehicle at any county. 

Purchase Date  

Replacement title and Recreate 
Title  

Under Iowa Code 321.42(2)(a), the customer may apply to 
any county treasurer for a replacement title. 

Received Date 

Dealer Title  Under 321.48 Dealers may apply to any county for a 
dealer title.  

Purchase Date 

Security interest notation  Iowa Code 321.50 will allow the security interest to be 
added or removed by any county. 

Received Date 

Salvage title Under Iowa Code 321.52, may apply at any county for 
salvage certificate. 

Application Date 

Junking certificate Under Iowa Code 321.52, may apply to any county for 
junking certificate. 

Purchase Date 

Title and registration 
application for a repaired 
vehicle that has passed the 
salvage-theft examination 
(Rebuilt). 

Iowa Code 321.52(4)(c) allows a customer to obtain a regular 
title and registration from a salvage title and a salvage theft 
examination.  This is then a title and registration application 
under Iowa Code 321.20. 

Purchase Date 

 Delinquent Dealer title and 
registration   

Iowa Code 321.70 requires a dealer to register a delinquent 
vehicle. This is then a title and registration application under 
Iowa Code 321.20 

Purchase Date 

30-Day Permit  Iowa code 321.109 allows a customer to obtain a 30-day 
permit from any county. 

Application Date 

In-transit Title Iowa code 321.109 allows a customer to obtain an in-transit 
title from any county. 

Purchase Date 

In-transit Plate/Permit Iowa code 321.109 allows a customer to obtain an in-transit 
plate/permit from any county. 

Application Date 

Non-transferable Registration 
and Title following a Non-
transferable Registration  

Iowa code 321.109 allows a customer to obtain a non-
transferable registration from any county. 

Date the vehicle is 
brought into Iowa 
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4. DOES THE ANY COUNTY TITLING PROVISION INCLUDE A REPLACEMENT TITLE FOR A PRORATE OR OFFICIAL TITLE? 
Yes. This is the same as other titles, any county may process a replacement title for a Prorate or Official title.  
 

5. WHEN CAN A DEALER USE THE ANY COUNTY TITLING PROVISION? 
When a dealer applies for a title and registration, or a dealer title. This also includes when a dealer brings a delinquent 
vehicle current. The proper procedure is for the dealer to apply for a title and registration to bring the vehicle current 
(prior to putting the vehicle into their inventory/being held for resale). 
 
6. WHAT ARE SOME EXAMPLES OF INITIAL TITLE AND REGISTRATION TRANSACTIONS? 
Any time a vehicle is purchased, the new owner or dealership would apply for a new title. The second type of 
transaction would be If you add or remove another owner to an existing title. The third would be for a dealer title 
application on foreign and non-foreign vehicles.  
 
7. WHAT SUBSEQUENT TRANSACTIONS ARE COMPLETED IN THE ISSUING COUNTY ON AND AFTER JANUARY 1, 2025? 
 Some transactions occur during or after the initial title and registration transaction and require the customer to 
return to the Issuing County.  These transactions are not title-and-registration transactions under Any County Titling. 
Since the Issuing County may be any county, the customer would need to return to the Issuing County for the 
following subsequent transactions. 
 

ISSUING COUNTY TRANSACTIONS RATIONALE 

Corrected title Title-only transaction. Issuing County since that is where 
the title is originally issued and is the only county to 
authorize a Correction and waiving associated fees. 

Additional fee for new registration This is not a title and registration transaction.  Issuing 
County because the Issuing County has the information 
about the original transaction to best help the customer. 

Void title Title-only transaction. This transaction may require a 
refund, and therefore Issuing County is best suited to 
handle. 

Replacement registration 
certificate during first period of 
registration 

Replacement registration will be allowed in the issuing 
county only during the first registration period. 

Replacement license plates during 
first period of registration 

Replacement plates will be allowed in the issuing county 
only during the first registration period. 

 
 
  



 
 

6 
 

8. MAY A CUSTOMER GO TO ANY COUNTY TO GET A CORRECTED TITLE?  
A corrected title can technically be done in Any County but if done outside of the original issuing county then fees need 
to be charged. If the title was issued in a county that is not the county of residence, a corrected title should be 
obtained from the county that completed the initial transaction.  ARTS will automatically charge the title fee and SI 
application fee.  The county may adjust the fee out for a legitimate reason, such as county error.  However, if a 
customer goes to a county other than the original issuing county for a correction based on customer error (such as 
providing an incorrect address or odometer reading”, then the fees will charge, and the county should not adjust them 
out. The customer must provide documentation to correct the incorrect information on the new title.  
 

9. MAY A CUSTOMER REQUEST A REPLACEMENT REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE IN ANY COUNTY? 
This answer depends on when the customer is asking for a replacement registration certificate.  Under Iowa Code 
321.42, a replacement registration certificate is intended to replace the existing version of the registration certificate. 
If the customer is in the first registration period, the registration certificate will list the Issuing County during the first 
registration period only, however, the customer may obtain a replacement registration in their managing county at any 
time.  
 

10. WHAT TRANSACTIONS ARE ALWAYS COMPLETED BY MANAGING COUNTY? 
The below transactions are always completed by the Managing County. This is because these transactions are not 
title and registration transactions, but either only title or only registration and therefore Iowa Code 321.20 does 
not apply. 

 

MANAGING COUNTY TRANSACTIONS RATIONALE 

Vehicle renewals Registration-only transaction under Iowa Code 
321.40. 

Parking ticket stops Registration-only transaction under Iowa Code 
321.40(8). 

Small trailers or homemade trailers that do not 
have a title 

Registration-only transactions under Iowa Code 
321.123. 

Manufacturer Buy Back titles Title-only transaction.  Iowa Code 322G requires 
titling in the Managing County of the transferor. 

Replacement registration certificate 
after first registration period 

Replacement registration will be allowed in the 
managing county at any time. 

Replacement license plates after first 
registration period 

Replacement plates will be allowed in the 
managing county at any time. 
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11. CAN A HOMEMADE TRAILER THAT IS OVER 2,000 POUNDS BE ELIGIBLE FOR ANY COUNTY PROVISION? 
Yes. Since a homemade trailer over 2,000 pounds is titled, that transaction is allowed to take place in any county. If the 
homemade trailer is less than 2,000 pounds, it is registration only and would not be eligible for the any county provision.  
 

  
12. WHAT COUNTY NAME WILL BE LISTED ON THE LICENSE PLATE IF AN INITIAL TITLE AND REGISTRATION 
TRANSACTION IS COMPLETED IN AN ISSUING COUNTY? 

The Issuing County name will appear on any plate issued under an initial title and registration transaction for license 
plates required to contain a county name under Iowa law. Customers should be aware that applications to title and 
register in a county other than their county of residence will result in the license plate containing the Issuing 
County name.   
 
13. WHAT IF THERE ARE ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS?  
We recognize there are many questions related to the new Any County Titling process. For readability and clarity, we 
have included three appendices to this memo divided into the following categories: 

• Appendix A: Processing Questions 
• Appendix B: Forms and ARTS Questions 
• Appendix C: ERT and Dealer Questions 

For ease of reference, we have continued forward the numbering system into the appendices. 

APPENDIX A: PROCESSING QUESTIONS 
 

14. WHAT HAPPENS WHEN A LIEN HOLDER OR DEALER SUBMITS THE NOTATION FOR SECURITY INTEREST TO ONE 
COUNTY AND THE TITLE APPLICATION IS PROCESSED IN ANOTHER COUNTY? WOULD THE COUNTY THAT RECEIVED 
THE TITLE APPLICATION SEE THAT THE SECURITY ESCROW IS ATTACHED TO THE VIN?  

The county that receives the notation of security interest will use a specific function in ARTS that will show the 
transaction and allow the title and registration to process in a different county. If the security interest escrow is 
placed prior to January 1, 2025, and the title is processed after January 1, 2025, the counties will need to adjust the 
additional $10 lien notation fee off the transaction.   
 

15. MAY A CUSTOMER COMPLETE A VOID TITLE TRANSACTION IN ANY COUNTY? 
The void title process is a title-only transaction and therefore, the existing process will not change under Any County 
Titling.  We recognize that the void title transaction may be completed through ARTS in any county, but we encourage 
void titles to only be handled by the Issuing County.  This is because if the title is voided because the title was completed 
in error, there may be a refund associated with the void title transaction.  The refund would need to be handled by the 
county that owes the refund, which would be the Issuing County. 
 
16. MAY A CUSTOMER COMPLETE A REPLACEMENT PLATE TRANSACTION IN ANY COUNTY? 
This answer depends on when the customer is asking for a replacement plate.  If the customer is in the first registration 
period, the replacement plate will list the Issuing County during the first registration period only, however, the 
customer may obtain a replacement plate in their managing county at any time. When a customer needs to replace a 
plate, a sticker will also need to be issued.  
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17. MAY A CUSTOMER COMPLETE A REINSTATE TITLE TRANSACTION IN ANY COUNTY?  
Yes. Any county may initiate the Reinstate Title Transaction, but ultimately it will require Vehicle Central Programs team 
to finalize.  Please note that this is a very rare process. We recommend that either the Managing County, or the Issuing 
County if the Issuing County handled the initial title and registration application, handle the reinstate title transaction.  
This is because those counties are most likely to have the background for why the reinstate title transaction is 
appropriate. 
 
18. IF A CUSTOMER DESIGNATES A DEALER OR LESSOR AS POWER OF ATTORNEY AND THE DEALER OR LESSOR 
PROVIDES THE VALID POWER OF ATTORNEY, MAY THE AGENT DECIDE ON BEHALF OF THE CUSTOMER TO TRANSACT 
IN ANY COUNTY? 

Yes, if the transaction is eligible for Any County Titling and the customer has signed a valid Power of Attorney to provide 
authority to the agent to make any choices on the transaction, the agent may select the county box on the title and 
registration application.    
 
19. MAY ANY COUNTY REFUSE TO COMPLETE A TRANSACTION FOR A CUSTOMER IF THE COUNTY KNOWS THE 
CUSTOMER HAS TRIED TO TRANSACT IN OTHER COUNTIES AND THE CUSTOMER WAS TURNED AWAY IN THE 
OTHER COUNTIES FOR FRAUD CONCERNS? 

Counties have the authority to refuse a title and registration transaction due to fraud under Iowa Code 321.30. We 
recommend that if one county suspects fraud, the county place an exception case on the vehicle record in ARTS to alert 
other counties.  If fraud is certain, the county may add an Exception to stop any future transactions.  We also 
recommend contacting a Bureau of Investigation and Identity Protection investigator for further action. 

 
20. IS ANY COUNTY REQUIRED UNDER IOWA LAW TO FOLLOW A MANAGING COUNTY’S CASH-ONLY NOTATION ON A 
CUSTOMER RECORD? 
No, the cash-only notation is not a hard stop to a transaction under Iowa law. The Issuing County may, but is not 
required to, enforce the cash-only notation.  We encourage counties to work together to solve these discretionary 
processing issues as they arise. 

 
21. IS AN ISSUING COUNTY REQUIRED TO FOLLOW ANOTHER COUNTY’S INSUFFICIENT FUNDS 
STOP ON A CUSTOMER? 
Yes.  Cross County Titling will not change the existing insufficient funds processes.  An insufficient funds stop will 
continue to be a hard stop and the customer must clear the insufficient funds stop with the county that placed the stop.  
A customer will be unable to register a vehicle with an insufficient funds stop.  This includes if a dealer has already 
collected fees. 
 
22. IF A CUSTOMER STARTS AN ANY COUNTY-ELIGIBLE TRANSACTION IN ONE COUNTY AND NEEDS TO HALT THE 
TRANSACTION FOR ANY REASON, MAY THE CUSTOMER FILL OUT A NEW APPLICATION AND GO TO A DIFFERENT 
COUNTY? 

Yes.  A customer may withdraw an application at any time. However, the customer will need to complete a new 
application.  The customer cannot cross out or edit the any county assignment on the title and registration application.  
We also suggest that if staff in the first county (where the transaction started) identify any anomalies with the 
transaction, staff may want to add an exception case to the vehicle record in ARTS so that a subsequent county is aware 
of the issue and can address as needed. 
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23. HOW SHOULD A COUNTY PROCESS AN APPLICATION THAT DOES NOT HAVE THE ANY COUNTY BOX CHECKED? 
If the application is received by the Managing County, then it should be transacted. If the application is received by 
another Issuing County, the sender will need to be notified that the remaining items need to be completed on the form 
including to check the box and to list the county for that County to transact or that the application should be sent to the 
Managing County. 

 
24. HOW SHOULD A COUNTY PROCESS AN APPLICATION THAT HAS THE ANY COUNTY BOX CHECKED BUT NO SPECIFIC 
COUNTY LISTED? 

We encourage counties to make sure they have sufficient information to confirm which county the sender intended 
before completing the transaction. For example, County 1 could be inferred from County 2 receiving the application 
and the check is written to County 1. If there is doubt that the customer intended the county that received the 
application to transact it, we recommend that the sender be notified that additional information is needed to 
complete the transaction. Options include instructions to either list a specific county or to submit a new application 
with the box unchecked. Counties should be aware that processing an application where the specific county intent 
is unclear may lead to more complications for both the customer and the counties if the transacting county was not 
intended, including reissuing title, reissuing registration, which county should receive the fees, and reissuing license 
plates. 
 
25. HOW SHOULD A COUNTY PROCESS AN APPLICATION THAT HAS THE ANY COUNTY BOX UNCHECKED BUT 
FILLS IN A DIFFERENT COUNTY NAME IN THE SAME LINE? 

We encourage counties to make sure they have sufficient information to confirm which county the sender intended 
before completing the transaction. This may include, if the customer has written a check, confirming which county the 
customer wrote the check to.  When a specific county name is written into an application, we believe the following 
assumptions are appropriate: 
 

• An issuing county receives an application with their specific County written in, but the box is 
unchecked. The title specifically states, “If the box is unchecked or the authorized county is not listed, 
the application shall be made to the county of residence….”   
 

• Managing County receives an application with a specific County written in, but the box unchecked. If it is 
unclear from other information which county was intended, the Managing County should notify the 
sender that additional information is needed. Options include instructions to either check the box to 
authorize that county or to submit a new application with the box unchecked and blank unfilled. 

 
• If a county receives an application with a different county’s name on the application, the sender 

should be notified that additional information is needed to complete the transaction. 

 
26. WILL AN ISSUING COUNTY BE REQUIRED TO ADOPT THE DISCRETIONARY CHOICES A MANAGING 
COUNTY MAY HAVE FOR PROCESSING THESE TRANSACTIONS? 

There are many aspects of county titling operations that are not specified by law but are subject to county discretion in 
managing their operations.  We recommend that each county clearly define and consistently apply its policies as 
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needed. Any County may, but is not required to, adopt discretionary policies of a customer’s Managing County.  We 
encourage all counties to confirm that a particular policy is discretionary and not required in law prior to transacting. 

 
27. WILL ALL COUNTIES SHARE THE SAME BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION AND IDENTITY PROTECTION INVESTIGATOR? 
No. This may happen by coincidence that one or more counties will share a Bureau of Investigation and Identity 
Protection investigator. But it is not possible that all counties will share an investigator.  
 
28. WILL THE IOWA DOT BE PROVIDING ADDITIONAL PRINTERS AND/OR COMPUTERS WITH ARTS ACCESS IF A 
COUNTY ANTICIPATES A SIGNIFICANT INCREASE IN TRANSACTIONS? 

At this time, the Iowa DOT is not anticipating providing additional printers or computers with ARTS access to any 
counties based on Any County Titling.  As data is gathered under Any County Titling for transaction numbers, we will re-
evaluate as needed. 
29. MAY A COUNTY RESTRICT IN-PERSON ANY COUNTY TITLING TRANSACTIONS TO CERTAIN TIMES OF DAY OR 
CERTAIN DAYS OF THE WEEK? 

We defer to counties on business decisions related to how to manage their transactions.  However, we encourage 
counties to treat Any County Titling transactions equally to other similar transactions because doing so will provide 
counties more accurate numbers of Any county transactions. This path will also reduce the risk of noncompliance with 
Iowa Code 321.20, which requires a county to allow any county transactions.  
 
30. IF A CUSTOMER HAS A NON-TRANSFERRABLE REGISTRATION AND SUBSEQUENTLY RECEIVES THE TITLE TO 
TRANSFER THE VEHICLE, WHERE MAY THE CUSTOMER TRANSACT TO RECEIVE A NEW TITLE AND REGISTRATION? 

A customer with a non-transferrable registration that subsequently receives title and wishes to title and register the 
vehicle may transact in any County.  This is because the customer is completing an initial title and registration 
application under Iowa Code 321.20 in this scenario. 

• As an example, if a person moves into Ames with a Nebraska registration but does not have the title, the 
customer will apply for non-transferrable registration in any county.  If the customer later wants to trade the car 
into the dealership, the customer must receive the title (free of liens) from the title holder to complete the trade. 
This transaction is a new title and registration application, and therefore the customer may complete the 
transaction in any County.  

• Customer moves to Iowa and Lien holder retains title in other state bank once loan is fulfilled sends title to 
customer.  

• If the customer trades vehicle into dealer before lien is released and dealer pays off lien. Proceed like normal.  
 

31.  HOW MANY DAYS DOES THE COUNTY TREASURER’S OFFICE HAVE TO PROCESS A TITLE APPLICATION?                   
Dealerships and vehicles sold privately are required to have the title application submitted to the county within 30 days 
from the date of purchase. Iowa code does not specify how many days the Treasurer’s office has to process that 
transaction.   
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APPE NDIX B: FORMS AND ARTS Q UESTIONS 
32. HOW WILL ANY COUNTY TITLING AFFECT FORMS? 
The main changes pertain to Form 411007 for purchased vehicles and Form 411179 for leased vehicles to comply with 
Any County Titling. The new forms both include any county authorization to confirm the applicant intends to utilize Any 
County Titling. There will be minor changes to form 411185 and 411163 private form for abandoned vehicle, 411356 
insurer’s affidavits, 411033 for replacement title, 411046 for notation of security interest, 411067 affidavits for 
foreclosure sale, and 411168 cancellation of security interest.  

 
33. MAY A CUSTOMER OR DEALER USE THE OLD FORMS ON AND AFTER JANUARY 1, 2025? 
Yes, the current title and registration forms dated 01-22 will remain valid but may only be submitted to the Managing or 
a contiguous County. The current title application dated 1/22 will not have the any county authorization and therefore 
the form cannot be used in any county transaction. To transact in any county, the customer or dealer must have the new 
title application dated 1/25.  
 
34. IF A COUNTY OTHER THAN THE ISSING COUNTY IS ADDING A SECURITY INTEREST, DO THEY NEED THE TITLE PACKET 
FROM THE ISSUING COUNTY? 
No. Only form (411046) is required to process adding a security interest. Therefore, collecting the title packet is not 
required.  

35. WHAT DOCUMENTATION WILL A COUNTY NEED WHEN REQUESTING RECORDS FROM AN ISSUING COUNTY? 
We encourage the counties to follow a consistent practice for each request of documentation needed to assist 
customers in another county. A county may require a form to be filled out to send records to another county. We 
encourage counties to work together efficiently to serve the customers.  
 

36.  WILL A DISCRETIONARY EDIT FOR INCORRECT COUNTY STILL APPEAR ON RENEWALS? 
Yes. Since renewals are only allowed for a managing county, the discretionary edit will appear.  
 
 

APPE NDIX C: ERT AND DEALER QUESTIONS 
 

37. IF A DEALER OR CUSTOMER IS FROM A SPECIFIC COUNTY BUT MAILS (OR USES A DROP BOX) WITH THE OLD 
APPLICATION AND A CHECK, MAY THE COUNTY ENDORSE THE CHECK AND SEND THE APPLICATION AND CHECK 
TO THE CORRECT ISSUING COUNTY? 

We defer to county discretion.  If the two counties agree, the first county may send the endorsed check and application 
to the second county.  However, the first county may also return the application and check to the dealer or the 
customer, as appropriate. 
 

38. HOW WILL IOWA DOT COMMUNICATE THE ANY COUNTY CHANGES TO OUT-OF-STATE DEALERS?  
Iowa DOT will consult with IADA and IIADA for their assistance contacting dealer counterparts in other states. We 
also encourage counties to reach out to frequent dealers in the area.  We will also work with motor vehicle 
agencies in neighboring jurisdictions to communicate the change.   

 
 

https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO21121000301721999
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO22011000303988572
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19101000126732215
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19101000127108297
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19101000127074031
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19111000127633967
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19101000127101560
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19101000126622143
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/sc/formcenter/CO19111000127633967
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